Greater Victoria Harbour Authority appoints new board members for 2021-2022

Feb. 1, 2021, Victoria, BC – The Greater Victoria Harbour Authority has appointed two new members to its Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 term.

Florence Dick will join the Board as the representative from the Songhees Nation until December 2022. Geoff Dickson will join as the representative from Destination Greater Victoria until December 2024. Councillor Marianne Alto and Councillor Susan Brice were reappointed by their respective Member Agencies. Joining Board Chair Christine Willow are Mark Mawhinney as Vice Chair, Doug Crowder as Treasurer, and Starr McMichael as Secretary. Dave Cowen will assume the role as Past Chair.

“I am pleased to welcome Florence Dick and Geoff Dickson to our Board of Directors and look forward to working with them during their time with us,” said Christine Willow, Chair of the Board of Directors. “With this Board, comprised of our new, reappointed, and standing directors, we have the skills to collectively tackle the challenges we face as a result of COVID-19; we will focus on the short and long-term recovery of the working harbour, which is critical to all of Greater Victoria and our member agencies.”

The Board of Directors represents eight member agencies: Esquimalt Nation, Songhees Nation, Capital Regional District, City of Victoria, Township of Esquimalt, Destination Greater Victoria, The Chamber, and the Victoria Esquimalt Harbour Society. The Board also includes four independent directors appointed from the community.

The 2021-2022 Board of Directors:

  • Chair, Christine Willow (The Chamber)
  • Vice Chair, Mark Mawhinney (Victoria Esquimalt Harbour Society)
  • Treasurer, Doug Crowder (Independent Director)
  • Secretary Starr McMichael (Independent Director)
  • Chief Rob Thomas (Esquimalt Nation)
  • Florence Dick (Songhees Nation)
  • Councillor Susan Brice (Capital Regional District)
  • Councillor Marianne Alto (City of Victoria)
  • Mayor Barb Desjardins (Township of Esquimalt)
  • Geoff Dickson (Destination Greater Victoria)
  • Ryan Burles (Victoria Esquimalt Harbour Society)
  • Margaret Lucas (Independent Director)
  • Gordon Safarik (Independent Director)
  • Dave Cowen, Past Chair

About the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority
The Greater Victoria Harbour Authority is a community-based, not-for-profit organization that is committed to the stewardship and sustainable growth of Victoria’s dynamic working harbour. The organization is governed by a 13-member Board of Directors, represented by four independent community members and eight Member Agencies: Esquimalt Nation, Songhees Nation, Capital Regional District, City of Victoria, Township of Esquimalt, The Chamber, Victoria Esquimalt Harbour Society, and Destination Greater Victoria.

The Greater Victoria Harbour Authority owns and operates several high-profile community amenities including the Ogden Point Breakwater, Inner Harbour lower causeway, Ship Point, and customs dock at Raymur Point. Within its commercial and marine industrial holdings are The Breakwater District at Ogden Point, Fisherman’s Wharf, four Inner Harbour marinas, and the historic Steamship Terminal. The organization manages the Victoria Cruise Terminal at The Breakwater District, which contributes more than $130 million annually to the Greater Victoria economy and is responsible for 800 direct and indirect jobs.